Don’t judge a degree by its title

As you probably know if you have read my previous blog posts, I am currently in my final year of university studying Fashion Buying and Merchandising. So, of course when I tell people the name of my course their first response is usually ‘Oh, so what does that entail?’ However, sometimes I don’t even get to share this information because most people jump to the conclusion of ‘you learn how to buy clothes then’ when actually, there is a lot more to it than that. Like most degrees, you don’t actually know a lot about the subject unless you are actually studying it, but particularly in relation to fashion students as we are sometimes perceived as not being very clever and people seem to think that we just sit there drawing or looking at clothes all day. I can tell you now this couldn’t be further from the truth. Firstly, I am rubbish at drawing and secondly, I left college with 2 A*’s in Business studies, so I kind of have an idea as to what I am letting myself in for.

Although I am fully aware that my degree will not be the only university course that comes under scrutiny, I am writing to explain the frustration that I feel when people don’t take the time to discuss with me what I have actually be doing for the past 2 and a half years of my life. I have always been interested in Fashion however, it wasn’t what I thought my future career would be in. When I left college at the age of 18 I decided to look in to PR/Marketing. I worked in a company for over a year and then decided I wanted to further my education and that is when I looked in to Fashion Buying and Merchandising. The first thing that struck me about my course was that it dealt with ‘how to work with suppliers’ and this was great for me because that was what I had been doing for the past year and I had thoroughly enjoyed doing it. Now, in my final year I am weighed down with a 7,000 word assignment, an 8,000 dissertation and 3 exams at the end of it and I can tell you now that I won’t receive my end degree just because I like looking at pretty clothes. It has been an intense 2 and a half years which has included many mental breakdowns, sleepless nights and yes some failures, but I wouldn’t change my experience for anything.

The point of this blog post is to encourage people to find out a bit more about people before you know them, particularly university students on courses that you may not know so much about. University isn’t easy for anyone, but it is extremely difficult when people think you have it easy just because of the title of your course.

Leave a Reply

